Each year, the UMKC Foundation and Law Alumni Association recognize exceptional alumni and friends of the School of Law with joint awards acknowledging philanthropy, leadership, service to the School of Law and the legal community, and lifetime achievement.

Nominations for the Law Foundation and Law Alumni Association joint awards can be made at any time. The award categories, criteria and nomination form available here.

The winners will be provided with a recognition gift expressing the appreciation of the UMKC Law Foundation and the Law Alumni Association.

Honorees recognized during The 2024 Big Event, Saturday, February 24, 2024.

For tickets, sponsorship inforrmation and event details for the 2023 Big Event, will be annouced TBD.

The Big Event

2022 Honorees

Decade Award - Katherine Myers (’12)

Katherine Myers has made an outstanding contribution to the profession within her first ten years of practice. She is a founding partner of Edelman, Liesen & Myers, LLP where she has litigated hundreds of cases, including those involving groundbreaking civil rights issues, such as those impacting the rights of women and the LGBT community. She has achieved numerous successful results in the Missouri Court of Appeals for the western district and the Missouri Supreme Court. Ms. Myers is dedicated to the advancement of equal rights for all individuals and has created a practice steadfast in dedication to her clients the ethical practice of law, and the betterment for the community. She has been a staunch advocate for abused and neglected children as a CASA volunteer.

JoEllen Flanagan Engelbart Pro-Bono/Public Service Award - The Young Alumni  – Councilwoman Andrea Bough (’00) 

Andrea Bough, is a Councilwoman for the Sixth District at Law for Kansas City.  She was the first council person to stand with tenants to advocate for an eviction defense program in Kansas City, laying the groundwork for all tenants to have the right to counsel in eviction cases, an ordinance she championed. With her unwavering help and strong advocacy both with her own city council colleagues and with the public, we were able to bring this critical victory home. Kansas City is only the 13th city nationwide to guarantee legal representation to tenants in eviction court. Councilwomen Bough’s dedication, persistence, and advocacy on behalf of tenants is what makes her an exceptional candidate to receive the Jo Ellen Flanigan Engelbart Pro Bono and public service award.


Pat Kelly Service Service Award – Erlene Krigel (’79)

Erlene Krigel has served as a member of the Law Foundation Board of Trustees for many years. She is also a past President of the Foundation’s Board. Her actions are evidence her deep commitment to the UMKC law and its students. Erlene believed we had a duty to hep students who were graduating during a difficult economic time, when jobs were hard to find for recent graduates and her law firm hired several graduates. Even though the economic realities were unknown, she wanted to help. She is also highly respected by peers and judges. Erlene handles complex bankruptcy cases and is the co-founder of Krigel and Krigel. P.C.


Lifetime Achievement Award – James Bartimus (‘77) 

James “Jim” Bartimus, founded the law firm of Bartimus, Frickleton Robertson Rader.  He has been recognized as a premier medical malpractice attorney, representing plaintiffs nationwide in complex negligence and pharmaceutical cases. Jim has never lost sight of his roots. Jim has remained highly active with the law school over his entire career He has remained a dedicated volunteer and contributor to the legal community having served in leadership roles across multiple legal and bar organizations both locally and nationally. Jim has always given back to the profession. For years he served as an adjunct professor at the UMKC Law School. He has been a member of and served in legal organizations such as UMKC Law Foundation, KCMBA, MATA, ABOTA, American College of Trail Lawyers, International Society of Barristers, and the International Academy of Trial Lawyers. In many of these he advanced to the position of President. Jim’s brilliance as a lawyer and a person has shone throughout the bar, in out community, and in our nation for almost 50 years.


Alvin Sykes Justice Award – Ilene Shehan 

Ilene Shehan is the Chief Operating Officer and Legal Services for Hope House.  Ilene has been instrumental in collaborating with other area shelters to provide the legal services Hope House offers through the support of a VAWA (Violence Against Women Act) grant. She has allowed the Hope House staff to assist the law school’s Child and Family Services Clinic with translation and other service related issues for our clients who would otherwise not have access to that assistance. Many people give up emotionally challenging work, but not Ilene She stays committed and perseveres. She finds motivation in the stories of women and children and because of her own desires to help, Ilene has affected the safety and security for countless families in the area. The legal community has found a perfect ally for obtaining justice for suffering women and children.


The Jay B. Dillingham Award – Dr. Adrienne Haynes (’13)

 Dr. Adrienne Haynes is an attorney and businesswoman who specializes in helping entrepreneurs develop sustainable infrastructure and business practices. Dr. Haynes is the managing partner of SEED Law, a boutique business law firm, and owner of SEED Collective, a consultancy. Through SEED law, she represents business clients exclusively and through SEED Collective, she works with clients on business strategies and community wide strategies to help foster an inclusive and innovative environment. Dr. Haynes prioritizes community service through nonprofit representation and leadership. She also serves as president of the Construction Business Institute and Black Female Attorneys Board of Directors. She is a member of the UMKC Women’s Council Board of Directors, participates on the KC Rising Ideas committee. Adrienne also works in the non-profit sector with the Multicultural Business Coalition, which connects organizations that represent diverse cultures and ethnic groups for the purpose for reducing barriers to entrepreneurship and to foster an inclusive and innovative business community.