Alumni and Students Honored at Kansas City Bar Association Events

UMKC School of Law alumni and students took top honors and scholarships at three Kansas City bar associations’ annual events.

JCBA scholarship winners pose for a picture

On October 13 the Jackson County Bar Association held its 21st annual scholarship banquet, named after the Honorable Kit Carson Roque Jr., a 1976 alumnus of the School of Law. Anthony McDaniel (J.D. ’15) is the 2018 president and Shaun Stallworth (J.D. ’08) led this year’s scholarship banquet committee. Having alumni engaged in these local organizations across Kansas City only strengthens the School of Law’s bonds with the community.

Among the honorees was the Honorable Lajuana Counts (J.D. ’88) who received the Judge Lewis W. Clymer Award. This award recognizes an individual for his or her service to the Kansas City community and their promotion of integrity of the legal profession. The student scholarship recipients were the highlight of the event: winners of the first, second and third place JCBA scholarships were all UMKC School of Law students: Deme Drummer (J.D. ’19), Irene Downs (J.D. ’21) and Brandon Williams (J.D. ’18).

The same story repeated itself five days later at the Hispanic Bar Association of Greater Kansas City’s annual Scholarship Reception. Members of the HBAGKC board include Secretary Joshua Cervantes (J.D. ’16) and Governor Raymond Rico (J.D. ’11). Six students (pictured) were awarded scholarships at the event, all UMKC School of Law students (below, L-R): Grace Colato-Martinez (J.D. ’18), Elsa Linares (J.D. ’19), Diórlena Natera (J.D. ’20), Dara Alvarado (J.D. ’21), Joanna Perez (J.D. ’21), and Heather Hughes (J.D. ’21).
At the event, the HBAGKC also announced that it would be continuing, for a second year, its collaboration with UMKC School of Law in a Latino Youth Symposium. The symposium will be held November 17, 2018 at the School of Law and will provide Latino high school and college students interested in law school and opportunity to learn more about their career goals.

Row of six students who were awarded scholarships from teh Hispanic Bar Association of Greater Kansas City

On October 26 the Asian-American Bar Association of Kansas City held its annual banquet. The Law Firm of the Year Award went to Bautista|LeRoy Trial Attorneys which includes Andrew LeRoy (J.D. ’05). The firm was recognized for its ongoing support of the AABA. Iris Siadatifard (J.D. ’21) received the only student scholarship at the event.

Published: Oct 31, 2018