Frequently Asked Questions

Your questions answered

Read the answers to some of the most frequently asked questions about CLE.

Missouri attorneys:

Missouri attorneys need to complete 15 hours of continuing legal education credit  by June 30 each year.  Of the annual 15 hours, two hours are required on the topic of ethics and professionalism and one hour is required on the topics of elimination of bias, cultural competency or diversity. Six hours can be obtained through self-study EXCEPT the required hours for ethics, professionalism,  elimination of bias, cultural competency or diversity.

Missouri permits up to 15 hours of CLE to be carried over to the next year, but the six hours of self-study permitted may not be carried over.

Kansas attorneys:

Kansas attorneys need to complete 12 hours of continuing legal education by June 30 each year, and no self-study is permitted. Two of the hours must be on the topics of ethics and professionalism. A maximum of eight hours can be earned in a single day, requiring at least one-and-a-half days of CLE.

Kansas allows up to 10 hours of CLE to be carried over to the next reporting period EXCEPT the ethics and professionalism hours.

Online

The quickest and easiest way to register is online. Your payment be processed immediately, and you will receive a confirmation that can serve as your receipt upon arrival.

Fax

We are happy to accept registrations with credit card information via fax at 816-235-6552.

Mail

You may mail completed registrations with a personal or corporate check made out to UMKC CLE to:

UMKC CLE
4825 Troost Ave., Suite 211
Kansas City, MO 64110

Walk in

You may register in person at the seminar, but we cannot guarantee space or the availability of printed seminar materials.

We accept personal and corporate checks, Visa, Mastercard, American Express and Discover.

Once you have registered for a specific webcasting event, we will email you a link and seminar access code three days prior to the event. We have prepared a quick tutorial (PDF) to help you understand the streaming system, how to receive credit and the features that will help you get the most out of our programs.

Contact us at 816-235-1648 if you need assistance.

Yes. Walk-ins are always welcome without a price penalty. While we try to account for a percentage of walk-in registrants, we cannot guarantee space or the availability of printed seminar materials.

Event cancellations received 48 hours or more prior to the start of an event may receive a refund. Cancellations received less than 48 hours before the start of an event may not receive a refund unless there are emergency extenuating circumstances. Substitutions for paid registrations are accepted and credit vouchers are transferable.

No-shows will not receive a refund or credit voucher. Material may be sent to no-shows upon request. No- shows requesting refunds due to emergencies or hardship must be received in writing no more than 30 days after the event date.

School of Law courses may be attended on an audit basis without academic credit or for non-degree credit by lawyers who do not wish to pursue a graduate degree but who desire to increase their knowledge in specialized or changing fields of law.

Ordinarily, non-lawyers and non-law students may not take law courses. If they wish to do so, they must first fill out an enrollment application (below)  along with an attached statement explaining why they feel qualified to take or audit a course and the relevance to his or her career objectives.

Classes are held at the School of Law, located at 500 E. 52nd St., unless otherwise indicated.

Course offerings

For a listing of courses, please visit our Catalog.

Registration fees

Advanced Professional Study Courses are billed at the LL.M. rates. To view current tuition rates, click here. Note that certain fees apply only for those students taking less than six credit hours.

Enrollment application

For those wishing to fax their registration form, you may download a registration form, and fax to 816-235-5276.