MENU

CLE Hardship Policy

UMKC CLE is committed to offering affordable continuing education events, products and services. Registrants unable to afford seminar fees due to financial hardship may apply for a waiver or reduced fee in writing no later than 72 hours before the event. Hardship discounts and waivers will not be granted on-site on the day of the event.

With your hardship fee waiver/discount application please provide the following:

  • Your name, firm/employer, mailing address, city/state/zip, phone, fax, email, bar number and years in practice;
  • A brief explanation for requesting the hardship fee waiver or discount; and
  • Any amount you can contribute toward covering the cost of the program.

Applications are reviewed by the CLE director and decisions are based on financial need and space availability for the event.

Send requests to mccarrolld@umkc.edu. Questions? call 816-235-1648.

How does live CLE streaming works?

Once you have registered for a specific web casting event, we will email you a link and seminar access code three days prior to the event. We prepared a quick tutorial to help you understand how our streaming system works, the actions required for receiving credit, and make sure you understand the features that will help you get the most out of our programs.

Please follow these guidelines and don’t hesitate to contact us at 816-235-1648, if you need assistance.

CLE livestreaming Instructions (431.1 KiB, 417 downloads)

How much CLE do I need?

Missouri attorneys need 15 hours of CLE each year. Six of those hours can be obtained by self-study. Missouri attorneys also need two hours of ethics credit, obtained each year (effective Jan. 1, 2010). The 15-Hour Review of the Law satisfies all requirements for Missouri in one day. Up to 15 hours of CLE may be carried over to the next year, but the six hours of self-study permitted may not be carried over.

Kansas attorneys need 12 hours of CLE each year, and no self-study is permitted. Two of the hours must be ethics hours. A maximum of eight hours can be earned in a single day, requiring at least one-and-a-half days of CLE. The Kansas 8 + 4 program fulfills all Kansas requirements by providing eight hours on one day and four hours at any previous or subsequent 15-hour program. Up to 10 hours of CLE may be carried over to the next year. No ethics hours may be carried over.

Do Kansas hours count in Missouri and vice versa?
For purposes of the 15-Hour Review of the Law and the Kansas 8 + 4, each hour qualifies for credit in both Missouri and Kansas. Remember that Kansans cannot get more than eight hours in one day.

Do the ethics hours count toward the required 15 or 12 hours?
Yes.

What if I register but cannot attend?

Event cancellations received 48 hours or more prior to the start of an event may receive a refund. Cancellations received less than 48 hours before the start of an event may not receive a refund unless there are emergency extenuating circumstances. Substitutions for paid registrations are accepted and credit vouchers are transferable.

No shows will not receive a refund or credit voucher. Material may be sent to no shows upon request. No shows requesting refunds due to emergency or hardship must be is received in writing no more than 30 days after the event date.

How can I register?

Online

The quickest and easiest way to register is online. Not only will your payment be processed immediately, but you will receive a confirmation that can serve as your receipt upon arrival.

Fax

We are happy to accept registrations with credit card information, via fax: 816-235-6552

Mail

You may mail-in completed registrations with a personal or corporate check made out to UMKC CLE and mailed to:

UMKC CLE

4825 Troost Ave., Ste. 211

Kansas City, MO 64110

Walk-In

You may register in person at the seminar, but we cannot guarantee space or the availability of printed seminar materials.

What are my options for payment?

We accept personal and corporate checks, Visa, MasterCard, American Express and Discover.

Can I register at the door?

Yes. Walk-ins are always welcome, without a price penalty. While we try to account for a percentage of walk-in registrants, we cannot guarantee space or the availability of printed seminar materials.