The Honorable Lajuana Counts’ (’88)

The Honorable Lajuana Counts’ (’88) investiture ceremony as United States Magistrate for the Western District of Missouri was held on Friday, Oct. 19. She was also presented the Clymer Award at the Jackson County Bar Association’s Annual Scholarship Banquet on Saturday, Oct. 13, 2018.

Derek R. Moorehead (’96)

Derek R. Moorehead (’96) passed away on July 17, 2018. After law school, he clerked for the Hon. Harold Lowenstein at the Missouri Court of Appeals.  He started the law firm of Larsen Moorehead LLC in 1999. Mussen, Moorhead and Rank, LLC followed in 2003. He worked at UMKC as an academic advisor before opening his own private practice. In January 2015, Derek became the Chief Executive Auditor for Cass County.

William G Lueckenhoff (’79)

William G Lueckenhoff (’79) passed away on July 27, 2018. After graduation from UMKC, Will joined the FBI as a Special Agent. During his 25 year career, he served in a number of FBI field offices across the country and at FBI Headquarters in Washington. After retiring from the FBI, Will worked in a number of private sector security positions including more than two years in Iraq as a law enforcement advisor to the military. When he returned to Kansas City, he worked for Catholic Charities and as a private investigator.

Jennipher M.C. Hawkins (’16)

Jennipher M.C. Hawkins (’16) has joined the Jackson County Juvenile Office. She was formerly with the Aramjoo Law Firm. Jennipher was recently awarded the Avila University Alumni Award for the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. This award is given to an alumnus who demonstrates the values of department and Avila University in her career path and community leadership.

Casey Crawford (’15)

Casey Crawford (’15) has joined the law firm Chinnery Evans & Nail.  Casey has worked in litigation and transactional law.  He was awarded the Law Firm Leader award by the Missouri Up & Coming Lawyer’s Association in 2017.  He is also heavily involved in various Lee’s Summit community organizations. 

Marshall Woody (’11)

Marshall Woody (’11) joined the law firm Patton Wagner & Associates, P.C. and his practice is in civil litigation. The Hon. Thomas H. Newton of the Missouri Court of Appeals, Western District selected Marshall as a Pro Bono Champion after a case from The Volunteer Attorney Project.   

Michael Foster (’08) and Brian Wallace (’08)

Michael Foster (’08) and Brian Wallace (’08) have started Foster Wallace, LLC after spending nearly 10 years at Polsinelli, P.C. where they were shareholders. Michael is a trial attorney who will focus the majority of his time on contingent fee matters. Michael was awarded Missouri Lawyers Weekly’s Legal Champion award in 2018; he obtained the largest jury verdict in United States history for a prisoner secondhand smoking case that led to a statewide ban on prisoner smoking. Brian is a corporate and transactional attorney who will spend the majority of his time advising startup and small to midsize businesses on a variety of matters, including formation, mergers and acquisitions, commercial contracts and capital raises. 

William Jeffrey Maloney (’95)

William Jeffrey Maloney (’95) has joined Lathrop and Gage as Of Counsel in the firm’s Kansas City office. He joins the Banking & Creditors Rights Litigation team and will focus his practice in the areas of Bankruptcy, Restructuring and Creditors Rights, and Banking and Bankruptcy Litigation.

Darwin Emil Johnson (LLM ’78)

Darwin Emil Johnson (LLM ’78) passed away on August 21, 2018. He practiced law for 50 years in Kansas and Missouri. Darwin also was in the U.S. Army and Reserves for 30 years when he retired as a colonel in the Judge Advocate General Corp.

Lauren Dollar (’17)

Lauren Dollar (’17) has joined the Jackson County Prosecutor’s Office. She formerly clerked for Hon. Stephen R. Bough at the United States District Court for the Western District of Missouri.