Stacey Wullschleger (’07)

Stacey Wullschleger (’07) was awarded the Robert C. Welch Volunteer Attorney Project Award at the Legal Aid of Western Missouri’s 20th Annual Justice for All Luncheon.

Richard H. Heilborn (’49)

Richard H. Heilborn (’49) passed away on June 18, 2018. Dick was commissioned in the United States Army Air Force in 1944 and served in the Western Pacific. After WWII, Dick returned to school and earned a law degree at the University of Kansas City School of Law. After obtaining his law degree, he became a personal injury defense trial attorney for Farmers Insurance and the founding partner in the Heilbron and Powell Law Firm.

Robert D. Litz (’81)

Robert D. Litz (’81), the President of United States Arbitration and Mediation (USA&M), has been nominated to become a Fellow of the American Bar Foundation (ABF), a global honorary society of lawyers, judges, law faculty and legal scholars who have demonstrated outstanding leadership in the legal profession and service to society. 

The Honorable Gael Wood (’75)

The Honorable Gael Wood (’75), formerly Presiding Circuit Court Judge in Franklin, Gasconade, and Osage Counties, has joined the mediation and Senior Arbitrator panels of United States Arbitration & Mediation (USA&M), the leading provider of mediation and arbitration services.

2018 Women’s Justice Awards

Congratulations to our alumni and student who are receiving 2018 Missouri Lawyers Media Women’s Justice Awards.
Dana Tippin Cutler (’89) Woman of the Year
Courtney Hayes (’01) Corporate Award
Dawn M. Parsons (’93) General Practitioner Award
Jean Maneke (’79) General Practitioner Award
Diane Hook, Hook McKinley (’03) General Practitioner Award
Nikki Cannezzaro (’00) Litigation Practitioner Award
Phyllis Norman (’03) Litigation Practitioner Award
Tiffany McFarland (’05) Litigation Practitioner Award
Allison M. Murdock (’88) Litigation Practitioner Award
Patricia Sullivan (’95) Public Service Award
Karen Warren (’78) Public Service Award
Lischen Reeves 3L Law Student Leaders of Tomorrow Award

2018 KCMBA Bench-Bar & Boardroom and Bar Conference

Congratulations to our alumni who are receiving awards at the KCMBA Bench-Bar & Boardroom and Bar Conference. Each year, the KCMBA BBBBC awards several attorneys and judges for their hard work and dedication to the community.

J.R. Hobbs (’81) Dean of the Trial Bar
Sherri L. Wattenbarger (’93) Distinguished Counselor
Dawn M. Parsons (’93) Distinguished Counselor
Meghan A. Litecky (’06) Thomas J. Conway Award
Bryan M. Meyer (’15) Young Lawyer of the Year Award
Jill M. Katz (’89) Kelly J. Moorhouse Dedication to Children Award
Jolie L. Justus (’98) Sly James Diversity and Inclusion Award

Max W. Foust (’54)

Max W. Foust (’54) passed away on March 7, 2018. He attended night school at Kansas City School of Law. Upon being admitted to the Missouri Bar in 1955, he formed his own law firm where he practiced as an active litigator, trial lawyer and mentor for over 50 years. He served as president of the Kansas City Metropolitan Bar Association and president of The University of Missouri-Kansas City Law Foundation. He was named and listed in the national publication, “Best Lawyers in America,” a Fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers and a member of the American and Missouri Bar Associations. He co-founded, served on the Board of Directors and was a longtime member of the Red Bridge Mercantile Bank.

Kea Bird-Riley (’07)

Kea Bird-Riley (’07) appointed as a Family Court Commissioner for the 16th Judicial Circuit of Missouri.

Cory L. Atkins (’07)

Cory L. Atkins (’07) appointed as Associate Circuit Judge for the 16th Judicial Circuit of Missouri.

Erin (Hansen) Kobler (’03)

Erin (Hansen) Kobler (’03) recently joined Cerner Corporation in the role of Senior Corporate Counsel. Previously, Erin worked for more than seven years at Hallmark Cards, Inc.