James Polsinelli (’67)

James Polsinelli (’67) will retire in January after an esteemed legal career and years of civic and community service in Kansas City. Almost 50 years ago, Jim opened an office above the Plaza Theatre as a 28-year-old lawyer with two other young partners, took out a $10,000 line of credit and started what would later become an Am Law 100 firm stretching coast-to-coast with 21 offices and more than 800 attorneys.

Stuart Z. Hirschman (’58)

Stuart Z. Hirschman (’58) LLM passed away on Oct. 8, 2018.  He was a partner at several law firms in New York and Kansas City. He also expanded into other ventures, including producing a Hollywood movie, serving as Chairman and President of a Missouri bank and as the general partner in over thirty real estate properties. Stuart served in the United States Air Force and the USAF Reserve.

Lydia Townsend Lucius (’17)

Lydia Townsend Lucius (’17) joined the law firm of Aylstock Witkin Kreis Overholtz, PLLC. 

The Honorable W. Douglas Thomson (’89)

The Honorable W. Douglas Thomson (’89) received the President’s Award on Thursday, Sept. 27, 2018, at the Opening Luncheon & Chief Justice’s Address at the Missouri Bar Annual Meeting in St. Louis, MO.

The Honorable Lajuana Counts’ (’88)

The Honorable Lajuana Counts’ (’88) investiture ceremony as United States Magistrate for the Western District of Missouri was held on Friday, Oct. 19. She was also presented the Clymer Award at the Jackson County Bar Association’s Annual Scholarship Banquet on Saturday, Oct. 13, 2018.

Derek R. Moorehead (’96)

Derek R. Moorehead (’96) passed away on July 17, 2018. After law school, he clerked for the Hon. Harold Lowenstein at the Missouri Court of Appeals.  He started the law firm of Larsen Moorehead LLC in 1999. Mussen, Moorhead and Rank, LLC followed in 2003. He worked at UMKC as an academic advisor before opening his own private practice. In January 2015, Derek became the Chief Executive Auditor for Cass County.

William G Lueckenhoff (’79)

William G Lueckenhoff (’79) passed away on July 27, 2018. After graduation from UMKC, Will joined the FBI as a Special Agent. During his 25 year career, he served in a number of FBI field offices across the country and at FBI Headquarters in Washington. After retiring from the FBI, Will worked in a number of private sector security positions including more than two years in Iraq as a law enforcement advisor to the military. When he returned to Kansas City, he worked for Catholic Charities and as a private investigator.

Jennipher M.C. Hawkins (’16)

Jennipher M.C. Hawkins (’16) has joined the Jackson County Juvenile Office. She was formerly with the Aramjoo Law Firm. Jennipher was recently awarded the Avila University Alumni Award for the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. This award is given to an alumnus who demonstrates the values of department and Avila University in her career path and community leadership.

Casey Crawford (’15)

Casey Crawford (’15) has joined the law firm Chinnery Evans & Nail.  Casey has worked in litigation and transactional law.  He was awarded the Law Firm Leader award by the Missouri Up & Coming Lawyer’s Association in 2017.  He is also heavily involved in various Lee’s Summit community organizations. 

Marshall Woody (’11)

Marshall Woody (’11) joined the law firm Patton Wagner & Associates, P.C. and his practice is in civil litigation. The Hon. Thomas H. Newton of the Missouri Court of Appeals, Western District selected Marshall as a Pro Bono Champion after a case from The Volunteer Attorney Project.