The Honorable Lajuana Counts (’88)

The Honorable Lajuana Counts (’88) was presented the President’s Award at the KCMBA’s 134th Annual Meeting on Friday, Dec. 14, 2018. She served as KCMBA’s 2018 vice-president.

Commissioner John F. Payne (’76)

Commissioner John F. Payne (’76) passed away on Nov. 4, 2018. He served as Commissioner in Division 41 for the 16th Judicial Circuit Court for 18 years. He was a member of the Board of Niles Home for Children. Among other honors, he was named among “Outstanding Young Men of America” in 1980 and the “Outstanding Family Advocate-2009” by the  Cornerstones of Care, a conglomerate of Children and Family Services  He became an ordained a minister in 1992 and served as Pastor of the Temple of Faith Missionary Baptist Church.

Matthew Sain (’18)

Matthew Sain (’18) has won the Missouri District 14 House of Representatives seat,located in Platte & Clay County. Matt began his campaign while in law school.

Casey G. Crawford (’15)

Casey G. Crawford (’15) has joined Chinnery Evans & Nail law firm. He practices in litigation and transactional law. He was awarded the Law Firm Leader Award by the Missouri Up and Coming Lawyer in 2017. Casey is involved in various Lee’s Summit community organizations. 

James Polsinelli (’67)

James Polsinelli (’67) will retire in January after an esteemed legal career and years of civic and community service in Kansas City. Almost 50 years ago, Jim opened an office above the Plaza Theatre as a 28-year-old lawyer with two other young partners, took out a $10,000 line of credit and started what would later become an Am Law 100 firm stretching coast-to-coast with 21 offices and more than 800 attorneys.

Stuart Z. Hirschman (’58)

Stuart Z. Hirschman (’58) LLM passed away on Oct. 8, 2018.  He was a partner at several law firms in New York and Kansas City. He also expanded into other ventures, including producing a Hollywood movie, serving as Chairman and President of a Missouri bank and as the general partner in over thirty real estate properties. Stuart served in the United States Air Force and the USAF Reserve.

Lydia Townsend Lucius (’17)

Lydia Townsend Lucius (’17) joined the law firm of Aylstock Witkin Kreis Overholtz, PLLC. 

The Honorable W. Douglas Thomson (’89)

The Honorable W. Douglas Thomson (’89) received the President’s Award on Thursday, Sept. 27, 2018, at the Opening Luncheon & Chief Justice’s Address at the Missouri Bar Annual Meeting in St. Louis, MO.

The Honorable Lajuana Counts’ (’88)

The Honorable Lajuana Counts’ (’88) investiture ceremony as United States Magistrate for the Western District of Missouri was held on Friday, Oct. 19. She was also presented the Clymer Award at the Jackson County Bar Association’s Annual Scholarship Banquet on Saturday, Oct. 13, 2018.

Derek R. Moorehead (’96)

Derek R. Moorehead (’96) passed away on July 17, 2018. After law school, he clerked for the Hon. Harold Lowenstein at the Missouri Court of Appeals.  He started the law firm of Larsen Moorehead LLC in 1999. Mussen, Moorhead and Rank, LLC followed in 2003. He worked at UMKC as an academic advisor before opening his own private practice. In January 2015, Derek became the Chief Executive Auditor for Cass County.