The Honorable John Moran (’57)

The Honorable John Moran (’57) passed away on October 2, 2016. He practiced law for 31 years. Judge Moran was appointed to the Sixteenth Judicial Circuit of Missouri in 1988. He was a World War II and Korean War veteran.

Jessica Agnelly (’05)

Jessica Agnelly (’05) was nominated as President-Elect to the Civil Litigation Committee for the KCMBA.

Andy Russell (‘91)

Andy Russell (‘91) was nominated as Secretary/Treasurer to the Civil Litigation Section committee for the KCMBA.

2016 Best of the Bar

For 15 years, the legal community in Kansas City has recognized its best attorneys in private practice as the Kansas City Business Journal’s Best of the Bar. Each year, lawyers are asked to vote for their metro-area peers whom they consider the top attorneys in Kansas City — colleagues from within and outside their firms.

This year, 84 UMKC School of Law graduates made the list. They are listed alphabetically below:

Jessica Agnelly (’05) — Wendt Law Firm PC
Charles Atwell (’78) — Foland Wickens Eisfelder Roper & Hofer PC
Jack Bangert (’76) — Kutak Rock LLP
James Bartimus (’77) — Bartimus Frickleton Robertson PC
Scott Bethune (’88) — Davis Bethune & Jones LLC
Douglas Bradley (’06)— Bradley and Bradley LC
Stephen Brown (’71) — Brown & Ruprecht PC
Patricia Campbell (’08) — The Potts Law Firm
William Carr (’92) — White Graham Buckley & Carr
John Christiansen (’91) — Law Office Of John Adams Christiansen LC
John Cruciani (’94) — Husch Blackwell LLP
Margaret Dean (’84) — Dean Law Office LLC
Laurie Del Percio (’99) — Horn Law Firm PC
Athena Dickson (’03) — Siro Smith Dickson PC
Cynthia Dodge (’98) — Cynthia M. Dodge LLC
John F. Edgar (’96) — Edgar Law Firm LLC
John M. Edgar (’68) — Edgar Law Firm LLC
James Eisenbrandt (’68) — Berkowitz Oliver LLP
Nathalie Elliott (’90) — Levy Craig Law Firm PC
Shelley Ericsson (’98) — Armstrong Teasdale LLP
Ashley Felton (’08) — Ferree Bunn Rundberg & Ridgway Chtd.
Nicole Fisher (’07) — Fisher Law LLC
Brian Gaddy (’94) — Gaddy Weis LLC
Aubrey Gann-Redmon (’08) — AGR Legal Services LLC
Robert Gordon (’09) — The Gordon Law Firm LLC
Gene Graham Jr. (’85) — White Graham Buckley and Carr LLC
Blake Green (’08) — BG Law
L. Annette Griggs (’01) — McCollum & Griggs LLC
Heather Hardinger (’10) — McCambridge Law
Desarae Harrah (’05) — Collins & Jones PC
M. Blake Heath (’09) — M. Blake Heath, Trial Attorney LLC
Pascale Henn (’94) — Business Law Advisors LLC
Nick Hergott (’10) — Meyerkord Russell & Hergott LLC
James Hobbs (’81) — Wyrsch Hobbs & Mirakian PC
Aaron House (’05) — House Packard LLC
Todd Johnson (’99) — Votava Nantz & Johnson LLC
Kevin Jones (’09) — The Meyers Law Firm
Kristi Kingston (’97) — Employee & Labor Law Group of Kansas City LLC
Alicia Koranda (’05) — The Koranda Law Firm LLC
Abraham Kuhl (’08) — Law Office of Young Jakobe & Kuhl LLC
Christopher Lawler (’02) — The Lawler Firm LLC
Andrew LeRoy (’05) — Bautista LeRoy LLC
Meghan Litecky (’06) — Dysart Taylor Cotter McMonigle & Montemore PC
Betsy Lynch (’05) — Lynch Sharp & Associates LLC
Michelle Marvel (’07) — Bartimus Frickleton Robertson PC
Kelly McCambridge (’08) — McCambridge Law LLC
Tiffany McFarland (’05) — McDowell Rice Smith & Buchanan PC
Lucy McShane (’05) — McShane & Brady LLC
Mira Mdivani (’99) — Mdivani Corporate Immigration Law Firm
Ryan Merrigan (’09) — Molner/Merrigan LC
Matthew Meyerkord (’04)— Meyerkord Russell & Hergott LLC
Martin Meyers (’81) — The Meyers Law Firm LC
Tony Miller (’01) — Troppito Miller Griffin LLC
James Myers (’97) — Shaffer Lombardo Shurin PC
Andrew Nantz (’99) — Votava Nantz & Johnson LLC
Phyllis Norman (’03) — The Norman Law Firm
Lisa Nouri (’85) — Law Office of Lisa G. Nouri
John O’Connor (’82) — Wagstaff & Cartmell LLP
P.J. O’Connor (’01) — Wagstaff & Cartmell LLP
Jill Olsen (’00)— The Olsen Law Firm LLC
Lara Krigel Pabst (’09) — Krigel & Krigel PC
Erica Perkin (’08) — The Perkin Law Firm LC
Josh Peter (’05) — Solomon & Peter LLP
Anne Post (’97) — The Post Law Firm LLC
Michael Rader (’99) — Bartimus Frickleton Robertson PC
William “Bud” Reynolds (’95) — The Reynolds Law Firm LLC
Ashley Ricket (’06)— Ricket Law Firm LLC
John Rollins (’91) — Rollins/Kavanaugh PC
Brian Russell (’10) — Meyerkord Russell & Hergott LLC
Patricia Scaglia (’97) — Scaglia Law Firm LLC
Anne Schiavone (’99) — Holman Schiavone LLC
Wes Shumate (’04) — Davis Bethune & Jones LLC
Janice Stanton (’85) — Stanton & Redlingshafer LLC
Jonathan Sternberg (’07) — Jonathan Sternberg, Attorney PC
Mark Stingley (’77) — Bryan Cave LLP
Brianne Thomas (’06) — Boyd Kenter Thomas & Parrish
Daniel Thomas (’02) — Humphrey Farrington & McClain PC
Brett Votava (’01) — Votava Nantz & Johnson
Beverly Weber (’01) — Martin Leigh PC
Christopher Wirken (’00) — Wirken Law Firm LLC
Larry Wright (’03) — Criterion Law LLC
Stacey Wullschleger (’07) — Fisher Law LLC
Jim Wyrsch (LLM ’72)— Wyrsch Hobbs & Mirakian PC
Kevin Zeller (’06) — Husch Blackwell LLP

The Honorable George Carroll Berry (’46)

The Honorable George Carroll Berry (’46) passed away on June 12, 2016. George was the Judge of the Probate Division of the Circuit Court of Jackson County, MO for 23 years until his retirement in 1987. He was a member of the Board of Trustees of UMKC School of Law Foundation and served as UMKC Law School Alumni President in 1979. He served in World War II and later served in various assignments in the Army and in the Missouri National Guard. Click here to view all Class Notes and submit your own.

Lantz Welch (‘59)

Lantz Welch (‘59) passed away on July 21, 2016. Lantz was a plaintiff’s attorney and represented victims of the Hyatt disaster including Sally Firestone. He served as president of the KCMBA 1977-1978. He was a member of the Inner Circle of Advocates and a Fellow in the International Academy of Trial Lawyers. He was listed in “The Best Lawyers in America.”

Ronald J. Stites (’73)

Ronald J. Stites (’73) passed away on August 15, 2016. Following law school, he served two years as a Lieutenant in the 101st Airborne Division, including a year fighting in Vietnam. He was appointed a Missouri Conservation Commissioner by Governor Mel Carnahan. Ron served as President of MATA.

Ronald Nguyen (’11)

Ronald Nguyen (’11) has opened The Law Office of Ronald Nguyen, LLC in Kansas City, Missouri. Ron practiced more than 5 years at Legal Aid of Western Missouri. He was the Supervising Immigration Attorney and handled/supervised all Legal Aid immigration cases for the Western District of Missouri and Eastern District of Kansas. Ron’s firm will handle immigration, criminal, and personal injury cases.

Mark Dunmire (’10)

Mark Dunmire (’10) joined The Hood Law Group as Of Counsel. He practices Wills, Trusts, Business Planning, General Civil Litigation, Tax Issues, Tax Planning, Art Law and Real Estate.


MaKenzi Higgins (’16)

MaKenzi Higgins (’16) has joined with Mark A. Corder to form Higgins & Corder LLC. Higgins has a niche in her practice for Dental Law, including associateship contract, buy-outs, collection practices and practice consulting.