Ashley Atwell-Soler (’08)

Ashley Atwell-Soler (’08)  has joined the law firm of Holman Schiavone LLC as Of Counsel. Ashley represents Plaintiffs in Employment Discrimination and Personal Injury cases. As a fluent Spanish speaker, Ashley looks forward to continuing to represent clients all of backgrounds.

Virginia L. Fry (’80)

Virginia L. Fry (’80) was elected Chair of the Missouri State University Board of Governors. Fry is a partner at Husch Blackwell. She is a member of the firm’s health care, life sciences and pharmaceuticals industry team

Nick Crews (’07)

Nick Crews announced the opening of  Fulkerson Crews, which represents the interests of businesses and insurance companies in Workers’ Compensation matters, employment disputes, and general liability claims. Crews has practiced primarily in the area of insurance defense, including both civil litigation and workers’ compensation. 

James Daniel Stinnett (‘66)

James Daniel Stinnett (‘66) passed away on January 13, 2017. His law career was interrupted in 1969 by two years of service in the United States Army. In 1972, after returning from military service and passing the bar, James went to work in private practice. In 1975, he left private practice to join the legal staff of Commerce Bancshares and retired as its General Counsel and Secretary in July 2009. Shortly afterward, he accepted an offer from Husch Blackwell to serve as Of Counsel to the firm and served in that capacity until 2015.

Tara Moreland (’16)

Tara Moreland (’16) has joined the Jackson County Circuit court as Law Clerk for The Honorable Joel P. Fahnestock. Tara assists in the preparation of Division 9’s civil docket, as well as the preparation of the Division’s jury trials. Prior to joining Judge Fahnestock’s chambers, Moreland briefly practiced in civil litigation at a Kansas City firm.

Steve Striker (’96)

Steve Striker (’96) has joined the firm of Lathrop and Gage as Of Counsel. He will be engaged in various business and complex IT technology legal practice areas, which includes cybersecurity, information security and data privacy issues.

Dana Tippin Cutler (’89)

Dana Tippin Cutler (’89) received the Governor Mel Carnahan Award for Public Service from the University of Missouri, School of Public Affairs. The Award recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions through their public service, both paid and volunteer, in the government, education, nonprofit or legal sectors.

Cecilia Abbott (’89)

Cecilia Abbott (’89) was appointed City Attorney of Kansas City, Missouri. Cecilia is only the second female City Attorney for the city of Kansas City, Mo. She has been a City Attorney for over 26 years and is a former board member of the UMKC Law Alumni Association.

Patrick W. “Pat” Peters (‘85)

Patrick W. “Pat” Peters (‘85) passed away on January 21, 2017. Upon graduation, Pat began working as as an Assistant Prosecuting Attorney for Jackson County, Missouri. Within one month of joining the Prosecutor’s Office, he successfully prosecuted his first murder trial. During the eight years he served as an Assistant Prosecuting Attorney, he handled over one hundred homicide cases and tried many of the high profile cases during that time, including seven death penalty cases. Pat went into private criminal practice of the law at Peters & Peters Trial Attorneys with his wife, Shelley Peters (’02). Shortly after entering private practice, Pat was appointed in federal death penalty litigation and represented a defendant in the firefighter’s explosion case. Pat handled major felony cases throughout the Midwest, with cases in Missouri, Kansas, Minnesota, and Kentucky


Chris Elliott (’79)

Chris Elliott (’79) passed away on December 29, 2016. Chris’ career in the land title industry spanned more than three decades. From 1986 to 1999, Chris was associated with Chicago Title Insurance where he worked as Assistant Regional Counsel. In 1999, he began his association with First American Title Insurance where he was currently Vice-President and underwriting counsel. He was a past board member of the Missouri Land Title Association and was honored in 2007 as the Association’s Title Person of the Year. Chris was also a member of the National, Nebraska and Kansas Land Title Associations.