2018 Women’s Justice Awards

Congratulations to our alumni and student who are receiving 2018 Missouri Lawyers Media Women’s Justice Awards.
Dana Tippin Cutler (’89) Woman of the Year
Courtney Hayes (’01) Corporate Award
Dawn M. Parsons (’93) General Practitioner Award
Jean Maneke (’79) General Practitioner Award
Diane Hook, Hook McKinley (’03) General Practitioner Award
Nikki Cannezzaro (’00) Litigation Practitioner Award
Phyllis Norman (’03) Litigation Practitioner Award
Tiffany McFarland (’05) Litigation Practitioner Award
Allison M. Murdock (’88) Litigation Practitioner Award
Patricia Sullivan (’95) Public Service Award
Karen Warren (’78) Public Service Award
Lischen Reeves 3L Law Student Leaders of Tomorrow Award

2018 KCMBA Bench-Bar & Boardroom and Bar Conference

Congratulations to our alumni who are receiving awards at the KCMBA Bench-Bar & Boardroom and Bar Conference. Each year, the KCMBA BBBBC awards several attorneys and judges for their hard work and dedication to the community.

J.R. Hobbs (’81) Dean of the Trial Bar
Sherri L. Wattenbarger (’93) Distinguished Counselor
Dawn M. Parsons (’93) Distinguished Counselor
Meghan A. Litecky (’06) Thomas J. Conway Award
Bryan M. Meyer (’15) Young Lawyer of the Year Award
Jill M. Katz (’89) Kelly J. Moorhouse Dedication to Children Award
Jolie L. Justus (’98) Sly James Diversity and Inclusion Award

2016 Best of the Bar

For 15 years, the legal community in Kansas City has recognized its best attorneys in private practice as the Kansas City Business Journal’s Best of the Bar. Each year, lawyers are asked to vote for their metro-area peers whom they consider the top attorneys in Kansas City — colleagues from within and outside their firms.

This year, 84 UMKC School of Law graduates made the list. They are listed alphabetically below:

Jessica Agnelly (’05) — Wendt Law Firm PC
Charles Atwell (’78) — Foland Wickens Eisfelder Roper & Hofer PC
Jack Bangert (’76) — Kutak Rock LLP
James Bartimus (’77) — Bartimus Frickleton Robertson PC
Scott Bethune (’88) — Davis Bethune & Jones LLC
Douglas Bradley (’06)— Bradley and Bradley LC
Stephen Brown (’71) — Brown & Ruprecht PC
Patricia Campbell (’08) — The Potts Law Firm
William Carr (’92) — White Graham Buckley & Carr
John Christiansen (’91) — Law Office Of John Adams Christiansen LC
John Cruciani (’94) — Husch Blackwell LLP
Margaret Dean (’84) — Dean Law Office LLC
Laurie Del Percio (’99) — Horn Law Firm PC
Athena Dickson (’03) — Siro Smith Dickson PC
Cynthia Dodge (’98) — Cynthia M. Dodge LLC
John F. Edgar (’96) — Edgar Law Firm LLC
John M. Edgar (’68) — Edgar Law Firm LLC
James Eisenbrandt (’68) — Berkowitz Oliver LLP
Nathalie Elliott (’90) — Levy Craig Law Firm PC
Shelley Ericsson (’98) — Armstrong Teasdale LLP
Ashley Felton (’08) — Ferree Bunn Rundberg & Ridgway Chtd.
Nicole Fisher (’07) — Fisher Law LLC
Brian Gaddy (’94) — Gaddy Weis LLC
Aubrey Gann-Redmon (’08) — AGR Legal Services LLC
Robert Gordon (’09) — The Gordon Law Firm LLC
Gene Graham Jr. (’85) — White Graham Buckley and Carr LLC
Blake Green (’08) — BG Law
L. Annette Griggs (’01) — McCollum & Griggs LLC
Heather Hardinger (’10) — McCambridge Law
Desarae Harrah (’05) — Collins & Jones PC
M. Blake Heath (’09) — M. Blake Heath, Trial Attorney LLC
Pascale Henn (’94) — Business Law Advisors LLC
Nick Hergott (’10) — Meyerkord Russell & Hergott LLC
James Hobbs (’81) — Wyrsch Hobbs & Mirakian PC
Aaron House (’05) — House Packard LLC
Todd Johnson (’99) — Votava Nantz & Johnson LLC
Kevin Jones (’09) — The Meyers Law Firm
Kristi Kingston (’97) — Employee & Labor Law Group of Kansas City LLC
Alicia Koranda (’05) — The Koranda Law Firm LLC
Abraham Kuhl (’08) — Law Office of Young Jakobe & Kuhl LLC
Christopher Lawler (’02) — The Lawler Firm LLC
Andrew LeRoy (’05) — Bautista LeRoy LLC
Meghan Litecky (’06) — Dysart Taylor Cotter McMonigle & Montemore PC
Betsy Lynch (’05) — Lynch Sharp & Associates LLC
Michelle Marvel (’07) — Bartimus Frickleton Robertson PC
Kelly McCambridge (’08) — McCambridge Law LLC
Tiffany McFarland (’05) — McDowell Rice Smith & Buchanan PC
Lucy McShane (’05) — McShane & Brady LLC
Mira Mdivani (’99) — Mdivani Corporate Immigration Law Firm
Ryan Merrigan (’09) — Molner/Merrigan LC
Matthew Meyerkord (’04)— Meyerkord Russell & Hergott LLC
Martin Meyers (’81) — The Meyers Law Firm LC
Tony Miller (’01) — Troppito Miller Griffin LLC
James Myers (’97) — Shaffer Lombardo Shurin PC
Andrew Nantz (’99) — Votava Nantz & Johnson LLC
Phyllis Norman (’03) — The Norman Law Firm
Lisa Nouri (’85) — Law Office of Lisa G. Nouri
John O’Connor (’82) — Wagstaff & Cartmell LLP
P.J. O’Connor (’01) — Wagstaff & Cartmell LLP
Jill Olsen (’00)— The Olsen Law Firm LLC
Lara Krigel Pabst (’09) — Krigel & Krigel PC
Erica Perkin (’08) — The Perkin Law Firm LC
Josh Peter (’05) — Solomon & Peter LLP
Anne Post (’97) — The Post Law Firm LLC
Michael Rader (’99) — Bartimus Frickleton Robertson PC
William “Bud” Reynolds (’95) — The Reynolds Law Firm LLC
Ashley Ricket (’06)— Ricket Law Firm LLC
John Rollins (’91) — Rollins/Kavanaugh PC
Brian Russell (’10) — Meyerkord Russell & Hergott LLC
Patricia Scaglia (’97) — Scaglia Law Firm LLC
Anne Schiavone (’99) — Holman Schiavone LLC
Wes Shumate (’04) — Davis Bethune & Jones LLC
Janice Stanton (’85) — Stanton & Redlingshafer LLC
Jonathan Sternberg (’07) — Jonathan Sternberg, Attorney PC
Mark Stingley (’77) — Bryan Cave LLP
Brianne Thomas (’06) — Boyd Kenter Thomas & Parrish
Daniel Thomas (’02) — Humphrey Farrington & McClain PC
Brett Votava (’01) — Votava Nantz & Johnson
Beverly Weber (’01) — Martin Leigh PC
Christopher Wirken (’00) — Wirken Law Firm LLC
Larry Wright (’03) — Criterion Law LLC
Stacey Wullschleger (’07) — Fisher Law LLC
Jim Wyrsch (LLM ’72)— Wyrsch Hobbs & Mirakian PC
Kevin Zeller (’06) — Husch Blackwell LLP

Allison Murdock (’88)

Allison Murdock (’88), Deputy Managing Partner of the Stinson Leonard Street LLP, was named to Benchmark’s Top 250 Women in Litigation in 2014. She has made the list three consecutive years.

Blake Heath (’08)

Blake Heath (’08) was honored among the 2014 class of Missouri Lawyers Weekly Annual Up and Coming Lawyers

Kim Shaffer Beatty, (’04)

Kim Shaffer Beatty, (’04) Senior Attorney at Garmin Int’l, was promoted to the Worldwide Office in Schaffhausen, Switzerland now living in Zurich for a three-year stint. She will be working with General and European Counsel in matters of EU law.

Parke Stevens, Jr. (’13)

Parke Stevens, Jr. (’13) won the election for Texas County Prosecuting Attorney, Houston Missouri, in an election against an incumbent of 12 years.

Roger M. Phillips (’74)

Roger M. Phillips (’74) passed away June 28, 2014. He attended law school at UMKC, where he received his JD and later an LLM in corporate and commercial law.

Heath Hall (’00)

Heath Hall (’00) announced he is the new Director of Grass Roots & Public Affairs at the Private Equity Growth Capital Council. He will continue to work closely with The Pork Barrel as the pitmaster for The Pork Barrell BBQ competition team.

Jolie Justus (’98)

Jolie Justus (’98) received the Legislative Achievement Award from Missouri Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers.