Dana Tippin Cutler (’89)

Dana Tippin Cutler (’89) received the Governor Mel Carnahan Award for Public Service from the University of Missouri, School of Public Affairs. The Award recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions through their public service, both paid and volunteer, in the government, education, nonprofit or legal sectors.

Cecilia Abbott (’89)

Cecilia Abbott (’89) was appointed City Attorney of Kansas City, Missouri. Cecilia is only the second female City Attorney for the city of Kansas City, Mo. She has been a City Attorney for over 26 years and is a former board member of the UMKC Law Alumni Association.

Jane Brown (’82)

Jane Brown (’82) has been recently appointed Assistant Program Director of the Office of Legal Education at the National Advocacy Center (NAC) in Columbia, SC. It is a one-year temporary assignment with the Department of Justice. Jane will be one of four directors in charge of planning continuing legal education programs for all 6,500 federal prosecutors and an equal number of DOJ staff throughout the U.S. In addition to planning the programs, she will recruit instructors and teach classes when instructors are unavailable. Examples of classes include Electronic Discovery, Deposition Skills, Health Care Fraud and Negotiation/Mediation.

Honorable Robert T. Altice Jr. (’89)

Honorable Robert T. Altice Jr. (’89) was appointed to the Court of Appeals, 2nd District of Indiana. He was appointed by Governor Mike Pence. Judge Altice’s legal career began in Jackson County, MO handling felony cases as a deputy prosecutor before being promoted to Chief Deputy Prosecutor for the Drug Unit. He then practiced with a Kansas City civil law firm. After moving to Indianapolis, he joined the law firm of Wooden McLaughlin & Sterner.

Professor Steven Popejoy (’88)

Professor Steven Popejoy (’88) serves as head of the School of Accountancy in the Harmon College of Business at the University of Central Missouri. He recently had an article entitled “Right to Work: A Legal Rights Perspective” accepted for publication in the Labor Law Journal, co-authored with (’89) alumna Professor Deni Oas, also of UCM.

Andrea Spillars (’89)

Andrea Spillars (’89) was named Counsel to the Governor, effective Aug. 1. Spillars initially joined the Governor’s Office in March 2015 as Senior Advisor and Legal Counsel.

Mark Richard Bollinger (’88)

Mark Richard Bollinger (’88) was appointed as Chief Globalization Officer at Smith & Associates, the largest independent distributor of electronic components.

Cynthia L. Martin (‘84)

The Honorable Cynthia L. Martin (‘84) has been selected as the recipient of the KCMBF Legacy Award. She will be honored and will receive the award at the Liberty and Justice Gala on September 10, 2016.


Jane Brown (‘82)

Jane Brown (‘82) 2016 Women’s Justice Awards recipient of the Public Service Award.

David Dehaemers Jr.(‘85)

David Dehaemers Jr.(‘85) is included on a list of the Top Mid Cap CEOs in the nation. He acts as the CEO of Tallgrass Energy Partners LP and was the highest-ranked local executive on the list, coming in at the 14th spot. Dehaemers became CEO of Tallgrass in February 2013, leading the Leawood-based publicly traded company (NYSE: TEP) as it acquires, operates and develops midstream energy assets in North America.