Steven Popejoy (’88)

Steven Popejoy (’88) has been appointed chair of the School of Business Administration in the Harmon College of Business and Professional Studies at the University of Central Missouri. He recently had an article entitled “Right to Work in Missouri – The People Have Spoken” accepted for publication in the UMKC Law Review, co-authored with alumna Deni Oas (’89), also of UCM.

Robert D. Litz (’81)

Robert D. Litz (’81), the President of United States Arbitration and Mediation (USA&M), has been nominated to become a Fellow of the American Bar Foundation (ABF), a global honorary society of lawyers, judges, law faculty and legal scholars who have demonstrated outstanding leadership in the legal profession and service to society. 

Jill M. Katz (’89)

Jill M. Katz (’89) is a new member of the KCMBF Board Directors

Lajuna M. Counts (’88)

Lajuna M. Counts (’88) is the new Vice President of the KCMBA/KCMBF.

Thomas Bryant Alexander (’87)

Thomas Bryant Alexander (’87) was appointed Deputy Director of Global Affairs in the Office of Acting Secretary Don Wright, M.D., M.P.H. at the US Department of Health and Human Services. He began his career as an Assistant City Attorney with the City of Kansas City, Missouri where he served for five years and received the Missouri Volunteer Project Award. ​He was admitted to the bar association of the Washington, DC Court of Appeals in 1989. ​He is a former Reagan White House staffer. He also worked as the Legislative Director in the Office of US Senator Jon Kyl (R-AZ), who was responsible for health policy and anti-trust issues arising before the Senate Judiciary and Finance Committees. Finally, Alexander was Chief of Staff of the Employee Benefits Security Administration at the US Department of Labor. More recently, he served as Consular Assistant in the US Embassy in Kiev, Ukraine, where he received the Benjamin Franklin Award from Ambassador John Tefft.

Anita Rodarte (‘84)

Anita Rodarte (‘84) was honored as the Family Law Practitioner of the Year in the Kansas City, Missouri area. Anita is a shareholder with Bernstein, Rodarte & Hatheway, P.C.

Andrea Spillars (‘89)

Andrea Spillars (‘89) has been appointed Executive Director for the Missouri Board of Law Examiners.  She will be overseeing the attorney admissions process in Missouri.  Prior to her appointment, she worked in state government in various legal and administrative positions, including counsel to the Governor.

The Honorable Zel Fischer (’88)

The Honorable Zel Fischer (’88) has become the Chief Justice on the Missouri Supreme Court and his term will run through June 2019. Justice Fischer was appointed to the bench in 2008.

Martin Zehr ( ’85)

Martin Zehr (JD ’85) recently published his novel The Desplazados. It is available on Amazon and Kindle as an e-book.

Virginia L. Fry (’80)

Virginia L. Fry (’80) was elected Chair of the Missouri State University Board of Governors. Fry is a partner at Husch Blackwell. She is a member of the firm’s health care, life sciences and pharmaceuticals industry team