David White (’84)

David White (’84) was chosen to receive the 2019 Excellence Award of the National Conference of Bar Foundation for his work and leadership of the KC Metro Bar Foundation’s Military Matters project. The award recognizes philanthropic work and leadership on behalf of bar foundations. Military Matters provides pro bono legal services to veterans and those on active duty in the KC metro area.r foundations. Military Matters provides pro bono legal services to veterans and those on active duty in the KC metro area.

The Honorable Lajuana Counts (’88)

The Honorable Lajuana Counts (’88) was presented the President’s Award at the KCMBA’s 134th Annual Meeting on Friday, Dec. 14, 2018. She served as KCMBA’s 2018 vice-president.

The Honorable W. Douglas Thomson (’89)

The Honorable W. Douglas Thomson (’89) received the President’s Award on Thursday, Sept. 27, 2018, at the Opening Luncheon & Chief Justice’s Address at the Missouri Bar Annual Meeting in St. Louis, MO.

The Honorable Lajuana Counts’ (’88)

The Honorable Lajuana Counts’ (’88) investiture ceremony as United States Magistrate for the Western District of Missouri was held on Friday, Oct. 19. She was also presented the Clymer Award at the Jackson County Bar Association’s Annual Scholarship Banquet on Saturday, Oct. 13, 2018.

Steven Popejoy (’88)

Steven Popejoy (’88) has been appointed chair of the School of Business Administration in the Harmon College of Business and Professional Studies at the University of Central Missouri. He recently had an article entitled “Right to Work in Missouri – The People Have Spoken” accepted for publication in the UMKC Law Review, co-authored with alumna Deni Oas (’89), also of UCM.

Robert D. Litz (’81)

Robert D. Litz (’81), the President of United States Arbitration and Mediation (USA&M), has been nominated to become a Fellow of the American Bar Foundation (ABF), a global honorary society of lawyers, judges, law faculty and legal scholars who have demonstrated outstanding leadership in the legal profession and service to society. 

Jill M. Katz (’89)

Jill M. Katz (’89) is a new member of the KCMBF Board Directors

Lajuna M. Counts (’88)

Lajuna M. Counts (’88) is the new Vice President of the KCMBA/KCMBF.

Thomas Bryant Alexander (’87)

Thomas Bryant Alexander (’87) was appointed Deputy Director of Global Affairs in the Office of Acting Secretary Don Wright, M.D., M.P.H. at the US Department of Health and Human Services. He began his career as an Assistant City Attorney with the City of Kansas City, Missouri where he served for five years and received the Missouri Volunteer Project Award. ​He was admitted to the bar association of the Washington, DC Court of Appeals in 1989. ​He is a former Reagan White House staffer. He also worked as the Legislative Director in the Office of US Senator Jon Kyl (R-AZ), who was responsible for health policy and anti-trust issues arising before the Senate Judiciary and Finance Committees. Finally, Alexander was Chief of Staff of the Employee Benefits Security Administration at the US Department of Labor. More recently, he served as Consular Assistant in the US Embassy in Kiev, Ukraine, where he received the Benjamin Franklin Award from Ambassador John Tefft.

Anita Rodarte (‘84)

Anita Rodarte (‘84) was honored as the Family Law Practitioner of the Year in the Kansas City, Missouri area. Anita is a shareholder with Bernstein, Rodarte & Hatheway, P.C.