Commissioner John F. Payne (’76)

Commissioner John F. Payne (’76) passed away on Nov. 4, 2018. He served as Commissioner in Division 41 for the 16th Judicial Circuit Court for 18 years. He was a member of the Board of Niles Home for Children. Among other honors, he was named among “Outstanding Young Men of America” in 1980 and the “Outstanding Family Advocate-2009” by the  Cornerstones of Care, a conglomerate of Children and Family Services  He became an ordained a minister in 1992 and served as Pastor of the Temple of Faith Missionary Baptist Church.

William G Lueckenhoff (’79)

William G Lueckenhoff (’79) passed away on July 27, 2018. After graduation from UMKC, Will joined the FBI as a Special Agent. During his 25 year career, he served in a number of FBI field offices across the country and at FBI Headquarters in Washington. After retiring from the FBI, Will worked in a number of private sector security positions including more than two years in Iraq as a law enforcement advisor to the military. When he returned to Kansas City, he worked for Catholic Charities and as a private investigator.

Ronald Wiesenthal (’72)

Ronald Wiesenthal (’72), of the St. Louis Mediation and Arbitration Center, was named Missouri’s Best Independent Mediator in a poll of lawyers conducted by Missouri Lawyers Weekly.

The Honorable Gael Wood (’75)

The Honorable Gael Wood (’75), formerly Presiding Circuit Court Judge in Franklin, Gasconade, and Osage Counties, has joined the mediation and Senior Arbitrator panels of United States Arbitration & Mediation (USA&M), the leading provider of mediation and arbitration services.

Dwight K. Scroggins, Jr. (’79)

Dwight K. Scroggins, Jr. (’79) received the Missouri Association of Prosecuting Attorneys Prosecutor of the Year Award from the 2017 Missouri Bar Foundation and Public Service Awards.

The Honorable Robert E. Larsen (’73)

The Honorable Robert E. Larsen (’73) received the Spurgeon Smithson Award  from the 2017 Missouri Bar Foundation and Public Service Awards.

Jim Bartimus (‘77)

Jim Bartimus (‘77) was named in Ingram’s “250 The Most Powerful Business Leaders” in the Greater Kansas City Area. Jim was the founding partner for the law firm of Bartimus Frickleton Robertson & Goza. Jim is a trial lawyer with four decades of expertise in complex medical malpractice and pharmaceutical related cases, particularly those involving negligence. He’s regarded as an expert in med/mal legal affairs worldwide and has lectured at legal and medical education events in the U.S., Europe, and Australia.


Honorable James Carey “Jim” Thompson (’79)

Honorable James Carey “Jim “Thompson (’79) passed away on November 16, 2016. Following 24 years in private practice he served as Prosecuting Attorney for Ray County for two years and later was appointed to the bench as an Associate Circuit Judge for the 8th Judicial Circuit Court. He was a U.S. Army Veteran who served Central Intelligence during the Vietnam War in 1971- 1972. 

Gail L. Frederick (’75)

Gail L. Frederick (’75) has joined the Drury University Alumni Council, the governing body of the Drury Alumni Association.

Larry V. Parman (’74)

Larry V. Parman (’74), president and CEO of Parman & Easterday, LLP, has been appointed to Paycom Software, Inc.’s Board of Directors as a Class I director.