2018 Women’s Justice Awards

Congratulations to our alumni and student who are receiving 2018 Missouri Lawyers Media Women’s Justice Awards.
Dana Tippin Cutler (’89) Woman of the Year
Courtney Hayes (’01) Corporate Award
Dawn M. Parsons (’93) General Practitioner Award
Jean Maneke (’79) General Practitioner Award
Diane Hook, Hook McKinley (’03) General Practitioner Award
Nikki Cannezzaro (’00) Litigation Practitioner Award
Phyllis Norman (’03) Litigation Practitioner Award
Tiffany McFarland (’05) Litigation Practitioner Award
Allison M. Murdock (’88) Litigation Practitioner Award
Patricia Sullivan (’95) Public Service Award
Karen Warren (’78) Public Service Award
Lischen Reeves 3L Law Student Leaders of Tomorrow Award

2018 KCMBA Bench-Bar & Boardroom and Bar Conference

Congratulations to our alumni who are receiving awards at the KCMBA Bench-Bar & Boardroom and Bar Conference. Each year, the KCMBA BBBBC awards several attorneys and judges for their hard work and dedication to the community.

J.R. Hobbs (’81) Dean of the Trial Bar
Sherri L. Wattenbarger (’93) Distinguished Counselor
Dawn M. Parsons (’93) Distinguished Counselor
Meghan A. Litecky (’06) Thomas J. Conway Award
Bryan M. Meyer (’15) Young Lawyer of the Year Award
Jill M. Katz (’89) Kelly J. Moorhouse Dedication to Children Award
Jolie L. Justus (’98) Sly James Diversity and Inclusion Award

Max W. Foust (’54)

Max W. Foust (’54) passed away on March 7, 2018. He attended night school at Kansas City School of Law. Upon being admitted to the Missouri Bar in 1955, he formed his own law firm where he practiced as an active litigator, trial lawyer and mentor for over 50 years. He served as president of the Kansas City Metropolitan Bar Association and president of The University of Missouri-Kansas City Law Foundation. He was named and listed in the national publication, “Best Lawyers in America,” a Fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers and a member of the American and Missouri Bar Associations. He co-founded, served on the Board of Directors and was a longtime member of the Red Bridge Mercantile Bank.

Kea Bird-Riley (’07)

Kea Bird-Riley (’07) appointed as a Family Court Commissioner for the 16th Judicial Circuit of Missouri.

Cory L. Atkins (’07)

Cory L. Atkins (’07) appointed as Associate Circuit Judge for the 16th Judicial Circuit of Missouri.

Erin (Hansen) Kobler (’03)

Erin (Hansen) Kobler (’03) recently joined Cerner Corporation in the role of Senior Corporate Counsel. Previously, Erin worked for more than seven years at Hallmark Cards, Inc.

Commissioner Martina Peterson (’94)

Commissioner Martina Peterson (’94) was appointed judge to the Kansas City Municipal Court.

Hon. Charles Lee Stitt (’68)

The Honorable Charles Lee Stitt (’68) passed away on February 12, 2018. He was a retired associate circuit judge of the Jackson County Circuit Court. Three years after law school, he was elected to the Jackson County Bench, where he served for 30 years. Before law school, he served in the United States Marine Corps and attained the rank of Captain.

August V. “Gus” Spallo (’60)

August V. “Gus” Spallo (’60) passed away on February 5, 2018. He was a retired attorney who served as the Chief, District Counsel of the United States Army Corps of Engineers, Kansas City District.

Ryan Manies (’06)

Ryan Manies (’06) joined McGownGordon Construction as Vice President and General Counsel.